Plenary speakers

Plenary Speakers

Prof. Val Zwiller, KTH and TU Delft, ‘Generation, manipulation and detection of single photons’

After studying at Lund, Strasbourg, and UC Berkeley Universities Prof. Zwiller defended his Ph.D. Thesis at the Lund University in 2001. Since then he continued his research carrier at Humboldt University in Berlin, EPFL in Lausanne, ETH in Zürich to gain an assistant professor position at the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience at TU Delft. In 2010 he was tenured at TU Delft and a year later was nominated an associate professor. In 2012 he co-founded a company ‘Single Quantum BV’ and became the chair of the CEA Grenoble forthree years to come. In 2014 he obtained a full professorship at KTH, Stockholm and spends 10% of his time at TU Delft. In 2016 became the director of the ADOPT Linneus Center in advanced optics and photonics.

His research interest focuses on the intersection of quantum optics and nanoscience where fundamental questions meet technology. He has published more than 100 papers in peer reviewed journals, during last six years 10 papers in Nature family journals, with total citations approaching 5000. He has been a referee for Nature, Science, Nature Physics, Nature Photonics, Nature Materials, Nanoletters, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review B, Applied Physics Letters.  His scientific collaborations extend to NRC Ottawa, Hokkaido, Glasgow and Linz Universities as well as CEA Grenoble. He has supervised 10 doctoral students, most of them continuing their academic careers.


Prof. Rainer Heinzmann, IPHT, Jena, ‘Analysis of single molecules in cells’

Professor Rainer Heintzmann studied at the University of Osnabrück and later at University of Heidelberg where he obtained his PhD in 1999. Afterwards he continued as a postdoc in Max Planck Institute of biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen and few years later obtained a position of group head. In 2004 he started as a group head in King’s College London. Since 2010 Rainer Heintzmann has been professor of physical chemistry in Abbe Center of Photonics at the Friedrich-Schiller University Jena, and heads a research unit at the Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology in Jena, Germany. He has published more than 100 papers in peer reviewed journals, and is editorial board member of the Journals PLoS One.

His research focuses on imaging cellular function at high resolution and developing ultra-high-resolution techniques such as structured illumination microscopy (SIM), optical coherence microscopy (OCM), image inversion interferometry (UZI), optical photon reassignment microscopy (OPRA), Raman-microscopy and light sheet microscopy. These high-resolution techniques allow scientists to resolve substructure in small biological objects such as cells, cellular organelles or molecules, or dynamic mechanisms in cells. He also works on novel image processing and inverse modelling to yield super-resolution images.


Prof. Mark Raizen, University of Texas, TX, USA, ‘Controlling atoms by photon entropy’

Raizen, Mark 2007

Prof. Mark G. Raizen received his undergraduate degree in mathematics with honors from Tel‐Aviv University in 1980. He continued his graduate education at The University of Texas at Austin, under the guidance of Steven Weinberg (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979) and Jeff Kimble (California Institute of Technology). Raizen completed his Ph.D. in 1989. He then was awarded a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder where he worked with Dr. David Wineland(Nobel Prize in Physics, 2012). Dr. Raizen returned to The University of Texas at Austin as an Assistant Professor of Physics in 1991. Dr. Raizen is now a tenured Full Professor of Physics at The University of Texas at Austin, and holds the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair in Physics. He also holds a joint appointment as Professor of Medicine at the Dell Pediatric Research Institute. He is the recipient of the I. I. Rabi Prize (1999), the Max Planck Prize (2002), and the Lamb Medal (2008), and a research award from the W.M. Keck Foundation (2015). Dr. Raizen is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America. Dr. Raizen directs an experimental research program, and in recent years developed general methods for
cooling almost any atom in the periodic table near the absolute zero of temperature. Beyond basic physics, these same methods will transform the way that isotopes are separated, providing crucial isotopes for humanity.


Duncan T. Moore, Ph.D., Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor of Optical Engineering, Vice Provost for Entrepreneurship, University of Rochester

‘Gradient-Index Optics and Concentrating Photovoltaics’

Dr. Moore holds a Master and Ph.D. Degree in Optics from the University of Rochester, and a Bachelor Degree in Physics from the University of Maine. He is an expert in gradient-index optics, computer aided design, optical system manufacturing, medical optics, and optical instrumentation. He is highly regarded for promoting technical entrepreneurship and for educating researchers on how to look for market opportunities, evaluate technologies, and determine business opportunities.
He has written or co-written six books and more than 100 articles, and has 18 U.S. patents focusing on solar cells and gradient index materials. He has been an invited speaker at hundreds of events and conferences. He has been an inspiring teacher in geometrical and instrumental optics, optical and lens design supervised more than 50 masters and Ph.D. students.
He is the founder and former president of Gradient Lens Corporation, known about making Hawkeye borescopes for the use of automotive, aircraft and steam turbine industries. He has been the scientific advisor to president Bill Clinton’s administration. He also served as a member of the Hubble Independent Optical Review panel with the task of repairing the telescope in 1990.
Professor Moore was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 1998 and he is a recipient of Edwin H. Land Medal, a fellow of OSA, AAAS, IEEE, SPIE and the American Institute for Medical and Biomedical Engineering.